I can’t stop listening to/singing Shades of Cool

I’ve listened to Lana del Rey’s new song >75 times since it came out on May 25th. I know every word now and I sing it all day long which is probably really obnoxious but I don’t really care. There’s something about the ambience that fits effortlessly with my surroundings, the ’50s-esque croon of her voice mimicking the beauty of Madrid. I really didn’t know exactly what to blog about so I decided to start with ‘Shades of Cool’. On Saturday we went to El Escorial, a small old town characterized by an ancient monastery. My favorite parts about the monastery were the catacombs and tombs of past rulers. An underground room made entirely of marble was lined with tombs. I decided to wander away from the group for awhile until Maria met up with me and we explored together. It was nice to take everything in by myself for a bit. I wish we could have taken pictures, but I found some on the internet:

el-escorial-panteon-reyes60054688monasterio_el_escorial_large

On Saturday night we went to Kapital, this incredible multi-story club. What a blast.

I am finished with all of my pieces! The bullfighting package should be done very soon, we’ve been working so hard on it and I think it’s going to be pretty phenomenal. Maria’s photos are really well done, and what I’ve read of Shandana’s piece is a really wonderful narrative of Spanish bullfights. I’m so proud to say that I’ve been a part of this project, and I can’t wait to show everyone from home once it’s all done!

Leave a comment

June 2, 2014 · 10:46 am

Leave a Reply

